Shantala Pèpe is a dancer, choreographer and film-maker who founded her own company in Brussels in 2015. With the continued support of Les Brigittines-Playhouse for Movement and the Mossoux-Bonté Company where she has been a resident artist since October 2018, she continues to develop her work both for stage and screen.

Her research lies at the crossroads of dance, theatre and cinema, exploring poetic and symbolic imagery with a strong emphasis on the interaction between movement, sound and lighting. The organic quality of her movement stems from her fascination with the natural world and founds her contrasted and bold aesthetics. At the heart of her work lies the question of feminine identity and its paradoxes, as well as our relationship to the dream world and imagination.

Driven by her desire to create intimate and intricate choreographic works, she has developed a series of solos: Innocence is bliss (10'/2008), Despite Her (50'/2016), Carcan (12'/2018) and Alice (40'/2019). Her interest for visual arts has led her to experiment with filmmaking and direct three award-winning choreographic films: Emergences (2011), Embrace (2014), and The Magma Chamber (2018).

The unique combination of her past as a high-performing athlete, her conservatory-level dance training and numerous collaborations with artists and choreographers has allowed Shantala Pèpe to develop an outstanding stage presence. She performs regularly in choreographic works by Nicole Mossoux (Cie Mossoux-Bonté), Karine Ponties (Cie Dame de Pic) and Isabella Soupart. Since 2012 she has been honing her acting skills, training with the likes of John Flanders, Beatriz Flores Silva, Marjorie Ballentine, Pico Berkowitch, and has been featured in a number of film works by various directors and choreographers.

Interprète, chorégraphe et réalisatrice, Shantala Pèpe fonde sa compagnie à Bruxelles en 2015. Soutenue étroitement par Les Brigittines - Centre d'Art contemporain pour le Movement de la ville de Bruxelles, et la Compagnie Mossoux-Bonté chez qui elle est résidente depuis octobre 2018, elle développe ses projets entre créations en scène et réalisations cinématographiques.

Sa recherche explore une imagerie poétique et symbolique, dont l'interaction entre le mouvement, le son et la lumière en est l'élément centrale. L'organicité du mouvement, nourri de sa fascination pour les mondes naturels, sculpte une esthétique graphique et chatoyante. La question de l'identité féminine et de ses paradoxes, le rapport aux mondes oniriques et imaginaires ainsi qu'à la fantaisie, sont les axes centraux de ses créations.

Dans une approche intimiste, Shantala Pèpe développe son travail à travers une série de solos : la performance Innocence is bliss (10'/2008), suivi de Despite Her (50'/2016), Carcan (12'/2018) et Alice (40'/2019). Sa curiosité pour les arts vivants et visuels pousse l'artiste vers le cinéma et la réalisation. Elle signe trois films chorégraphiques primés en festivals internationaux : Emergences (2011), Embrace(2014), et The Magma Chamber (2018).

La conjonction d'un passé d'athlète, d'une formation de danse en conservatoire et de collaborations avec de nombreux artistes a permis à Shantala Pèpe de développer une amplitude d'interprétations peu commune. Elle interprète régulièrement les chorégraphies de Nicole Mossoux (Cie Mossoux-Bonté), Karine Ponties (Cie Dame de Pic) et Isabella Soupart.

Elle se forme par ailleurs au jeu d'acteur avec John Flanders, Beatriz Flores Silva, Marjorie Ballentine, Pico Berkowitch, et apparait à l'écran pour plusieurs réalisateurs et chorégraphes.