Rafales

Creation 2022

60 minutes

Thrown on a road full of obstacles, a group moves inexorably, united in the face of the threat of imminent danger. In the tumult of flight and the uncertainty of the paths to be taken, they form one united body, exploring the gestures and mechanisms of mutual aid, where perhaps their utopia and their emancipation reside. Navigating between realism and onirism, RAFALES unfolds a choreographic, pictorial and sound narrative mixing precise physical scores and strong theatrical presences.

INTENTION

Since immemorial time, men migrate, leave their native land to go to the unknown, driven by the desire for a better life, and often at the risk of their lives. In the face of danger, how do bodies unite and move? This is the question that the piece will ask and around which it will build, without answering it. Through a group of five women and men projected in a hostile and coercive imaginary environment, it is here the desire to confront the notion of danger with that of mutual aid and solidarity that interests me, as well as what can lead to the collapse of solidarity, and drawing in particular from the study book Mutual Aid by Pierre Kropotkine, and the meta-analysis Mutual aid, the other law of the jungle by Pablo Servigne and Gauthier Chapelle. We will explore certain relational dynamics present in the living world depending on whether cooperation or struggle dominates: coexistence, symbiosis, but also predation and competition.

SCENIC TRANSPOSITION
Five lost souls come back to life as together they trace the steps of the very exodus that sealed their undoing. From hostile lands to makeshift shelters, they navigate the elements as they seek how best to move together as one, vacillating from cooperation to power struggles. The fragility and power of the bonds which unite them are put to the test as each step in their quest for a common ideal seems to reveal the impossibility of their odyssey, leaving the community to capsize from absurd rivalries to symbiotic fantasies, in a growing abstraction of space, between concrete physical actions and abstraction of the sound and graphic landscapes that they pass through. Aspirated by this space-time that is both fragmented and out of borders, they multiply the attempts to reconstruct the space to better emancipate themselves from it, in a post-apocalyptic atmosphere.


CREDITS

Artistic direction and Choreography Shantala Pèpe
Creation and Performance Marion Bosetti, François Brice, Louis Nam Le Van Ho, Nadir Louatib, Frauke Mariën (many thanks to Vincent Clavaguera-Pratx)
Dramaturgy
Sara Lemaire
Musical Composition Thomas Turine
Lighting and Set Design Hugues Girard
Costumes Patricia Eggerickx
Vocal direction
Sarah Klenes
Production Manager
Claude Véron

Production Shantala Pèpe / MANA Compagnie
Coproduction Les Brigittines - Playhouse for Movement, Le Phare - Le Havre National Choreographic Center
Support
Wallonia-Brussels Federation, Compagnie Mossoux-Bonté, Centre Culturel Jacques Franck, SACD Belgium, LookIN'OUT (theatre 140, Le BAMP, AD/LIB Production), Wallonie Bruxelles Théâtre Danse, Theatre Les Tanneurs

Photos©Aurélie Leporq and Fabienne Antomarchi

PREMIERES

6 to 10 December 2022 Les Brigittines - Playhouse for Movement, Brussels, BE

26 November 2021 Theatre 140 - Professional Platform LookIN'OUT, Brussels, BE

12 May 2021 Work in progress for professionals - Les Brigittines, Brussels, BE

TOUR DATES

2023/2024 Le Senghor / Cultural Center Jacques Franck / Central

Rafales

Création 2022

60 minutes

Projeté sur une route semée d’embûches, un groupe avance inexorablement, soudé face à la menace d’un danger imminent. Dans le tumulte de la fuite et l’incertitude des voies à emprunter, iels ne forment qu’un même corps solidaire, explorant les gestes et mécanismes de l’entraide, là où peut-être réside leur utopie et leur affranchissement. Naviguant entre réalisme et onirisme, RAFALES déploie un récit chorégraphique, pictural et sonore sur la migration, mêlant partitions physiques précises et présences théâtrales fortes.

INTENTION
Depuis des temps immémoriaux, les Hommes migrent, quittent leur terre natale pour aller vers l'inconnu, poussés par le désir d'une vie meilleure, et souvent au péril de leur vie. Face au danger, comment les corps se fédèrent-ils et se mettent en mouvement ? C'est la question autour de laquelle la pièce se construira, sans y répondre. Par le biais d'un groupe de cinq femmes et hommes projeté dans un environnement imaginaire hostile et coercitif, c'est ici l'envie de confronter la notion de danger à celles de l'entraide et de la solidarité qui m'intéresse, mais aussi ce qui peut engendrer l'effondrement de la solidarité, en m'inspirant notamment du livre L'entraide, un facteur de l'évolution de Pierre Kropotkine, et la méta-analyse L'entraide, l'autre loi de la jungle de Pablo Servigne et Gauthier Chapelle. Nous explorerons certaines dynamiques relationnelles présentes dans le monde vivant selon que la coopération ou la lutte domine : la coexistence, la symbiose, mais aussi la prédation et la compétition.

TRANSPOSITION SCÉNIQUE
Cinq âmes à la dérive reprennent vie pour retracer encore une fois, le chemin de l’exil qui les perdit. De terres hostiles en refuges de fortune, iels vacillent au gré des éléments entre coopération et lutte de pouvoir. Leur quête vers un idéal qui semble s'estomper toujours plus au fil de leur odyssée, éprouvera bientôt la fragilité et la puissance des liens qui les unissent. Face à la menace d'un danger imminent, cette communauté chavire de rivalités absurdes en fantasmes symbiotiques, entre actions physiques concrètes et abstraction des paysages sonores et graphiques qu'iels traversent. Aspirés par cet espace-temps à la fois morcelé et hors frontière, iels multiplient les tentatives de reconstruire l'espace pour mieux s'en émanciper, dans une atmosphère post-apocalyptique.

DISTRIBUTION

Conception et Chorégraphie Shantala Pèpe
Création et Interprétation Marion Bosetti, François Brice, Louis Nam Le Van Ho, Nadir Louatib, Frauke Mariën (remerciements à Vincent Clavaguera-Pratx)
Dramaturgie
Sara Lemaire
Composition musicale Thomas Turine
Création lumière et Scénographie Hugues Girard
Costumes Patty Eggerickx
Mise en Voix
Sarah Klenes
Accompagnement à la Production et Diffusion
Claude Véron

Production MANA Cie
Coproduction Les Brigittines - Centre d'Art contemporain du Mouvement de la Ville de Bruxelles, Le Phare - Centre Chorégraphique National du Havre Normandie
Soutiens Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Compagnie Mossoux-Bonté, Centre Culturel Jacques Franck, SACD, LookIN'OUT (Théâtre 140, Le BAMP, AD/LIB production), Wallonie-Bruxelles Théâtre Danse, Théâtre Les Tanneurs

Photos©Aurélie Leporq et Fabienne Antomarchi

PREMIÈRES

6 au 10 décembre 2022 Les Brigittines - Playhouse for Movement, Bruxelles

6 octobre 2022 Théâtre Les Tanneurs - Ici Bruxelles // Focus Pro

26 novembre 2021 Théâtre 140 - Plateforme professionnelle LookIN'OUT, Bruxelles

12 mai 2021 Work in progress pour professionnels - Les Brigittines, Bruxelles

REPRÉSENTATIONS

2023-2024 Le Senghor / Centre Culturel Jacques Franck / Central